A very sad day

This blog was started only a few weeks ago. I called it “Me, five hens, one rooster and a dog called Bella”. After a fox visited the farm today, I should really re-name this blog “Me, two very lucky hens and a dog called Bella”.

It looks like Mr Fox took a fancy to my handsome rooster and three of my little hens. Evidence shows that Clyde put up quite a struggle to protect his girls and he died in the line of duty.

Kosta (fellow Wall farm resisdent) took the dogs up to the middle field for a stroll this morning and found feathers….a quarrel amongst the hens was his first thought….then a little golden-red feathered body was spotted by the pond, then another close by.

Clyde’s body has not been found, nor the third hen, just two very frightened hens huddled in their coop.

I am very sad. However practical and stoic I try to remain, I loved my hens.

I’m not sure what will happen to this blog now.  At the moment I feel empty but as one of my friends said when Honey died “If you’re gonna keep chickens – you need to toughen up”.

I’m sure in a few weeks time I will be ready to start thinking about adding some pulletts (young chickens not yet laying eggs) to our very tiny flock and another rooster although nothing can replace my handsome young Clyde.

But not yet.

Leave a Reply

